Grand Final scoreboards (part 4)

Scoreboard pressure‘s version of the Grand Final marathon officially concludes today with part four of our series about Grand Final scoreboards. Western Australian scoreboards are to the fore, but the home of Australian Rules football is not forgotten, with a visit to the VFL Grand Final.

2002 Saturday Football League, Thornlie Oval, WA

The WA Sunday Football League disbanded at the end of the 2008 season. Among the reasons was that most players wanted to play on Saturdays. Most of the clubs survived and are now in the amateurs, the WAAFL, happily playing on Saturday afternoons.

Perhaps the writing was on the wall well before 2008. The SFL had an affiliated competition of one-team clubs that played on Saturdays. For a while it was called the WA Football Association and later the Saturday Football League.

The 2002 Saturday FL grand final was played at Thornlie Oval. Roleystone 13.7 (85) defeated Sister Kate’s 8.10 (58). If you think Sister Kate’s rings a bell you’re right… it’s where Polly Farmer and fellow Indigenous Team of the Century member Ted Kilmurray grew up.

You can read more about the Indigenous Team of the Century in Sean Gorman’s excellent book, Legends, published this year by Aboriginal Studies Press.

Les Everett

2011 Western Australia Amateur Football League, Leederville Oval

This was a highly unusual A-grade amateurs grand final scoreboard. That’s because the previous seven had been won by Bill Duckworth’s North Beach (they also won in 1999, 2001 and 2002).

Mt Lawley finished on top but nothing much separated the opponents during the season. Their game in round two was a draw, Mt Lawley won by a point in round 11 and by 13 points in a semi final.

University did the unthinkable and beat North Beach by 42 points to move into the grand final. On a windy Grand Final day at Leederville the Uni boys were just a bit too precise. Clever small forward David Crudeli kicked five goals and was named best-on-ground.

Trivia note: In December 1949 The West Australian reported that ‘The Perth City Council has authorised the expenditure of £60 for the erection of a new score board at Leederville Oval. The new board will be 18ft. by 9ft.’

More about Leederville Oval

Les Everett

2011 Onshore Football Association, Dunsborough, WA

The grand final of the Onshore Cup Football Association was a bit different – and it wasn’t just the team names: Dunsborough Yallingup Mullies vs Bunbury Mulloways. There were more beards, dreadlocks and board shorts on the field than usual, more interchange players on the sidelines, more dogs in the crowd, and a blackboard and chalk scoreboard.

The Mullies were chasing their ninth consecutive premiership and did it easily. The Mulloways battled away but the city ring-ins it was rumoured they’d recruited either didn’t turn up or didn’t make much of a difference.

More, much more about Dunsborough Oval

Les Everett

2011 Western Australian Football League, Subiaco Oval

Photo by William Crabb

After losing the epic 2010 Grand Final by a point Claremont simply had to win the premiership in 2011.

As in 2010 the Tigers finished on top after the home and away fixtures, with 15 wins compared to 17 in 2010, and again they won the second semi final comfortably. This time they met Subiaco who made it nine wins in a row by taking out the first semi and the preliminary finals.

However the Lions limped into the Grand Final and though brave they simply couldn’t cope with a group of Claremont players who had a date with destiny. Simon McPhee was the premiership coach, Clancy Rudeforth was his captain and Beau Wilkes won the Simpson Medal.

Les Everett

2011 Foxtel Cup, Subiaco Oval

A made-for-TV competition, the Foxtel Cup was a welcome addition to the footy calendar in 2011. There were teams from the VFL, WAFL and SANFL as well as Tassie, NT and Qld.

There were some ripping games, like East Perth’s come-from-behind victory over North Ballarat and the Royals, who had an ordinary WAFL season, eked out trips to Darwin and Melbourne through the new competition.

In the Grand Final at Subiaco Oval Williamstown 9.5 (59) beat Claremont 5.8 (38) in a high-quality game. Ben Jolley of the Seagulls was best-on-ground.

Les Everett

2011 Victorian Football League, Etihad Stadium

Port Melbourne completed a perfect unbeaten season when it demolished Williamstown by 56 points under the closed roof of Etihad Stadium (despite the spring sunshine outside).  The Seagulls, aligned to the Western Bulldogs, had one good quarter, the first, and were thereafter given a football lesson by Port, which has no AFL-listed players at all.

Final scores were Port Melbourne 22.12 (144) to Williamstown 12.10 (88). Port forwards Dean Galea (six goals) and Patrick Rose (five) were both recruited from Williamstown a few seasons back. Port’s Toby Pinwill won the Norm Goss Medal for best-on-ground.

Port beat the Seagulls fair and square on the field but off the field it was disappointing to hear a racist slur from a Port supporter.

On a brighter note, Greg Champion, of the Coodabeen Champions, sang a fine,  understated and unaccompanied national anthem. And then strolled off the ground carrying the microphone stand.

Vin Maskell

Scoreboard pressure will resume normal transmission next week and through the summer months, with cricket as well as football scoreboards. Stay tuned.