Ariah Park, New South Wales

In their own small ways scoreboards are landmarks.

The web tells us that the Ardlethan-Ariah Park-Mirrool Football and Netball Club is a member of the Farrar Football League in the southern New South Wales region known as the Riverina. AAPM are also called the Northern Jets. They wear the Port Adelaide colours and ‘lightning bolt’ and have two home grounds: Ariah Park Recreation Reserve and Ardlethan Sports Ground. This photo was taken at Ariah Park in May 2010.

A merger of three clubs, the Jets appeared to have had a local rivalry with another three-pronged club, Collingullie-Ashmont-Kapooka. The Jets’ seniors defeated C.A.K in the 2005 and 2007 grand finals, while the reserves scored a premiership hat-trick over C.A.K in 2005, 2006 and 2007. (C.A.K has joined the Riverina Football League for the start of the 2011 season)

Ardlethan Football Club was formed in 1907 and wore a jumper featuring three wide vertical stripes: red, black and gold. Known as The Stars, Ardelthan won four flags while in the Barellan Football League (1931, 1932, 1953, 1954). In the Farrar Football League they were runners up to C.A.K in 1999 and 2003.

Ariah Park-Mirool were known as the Brown Bombers. They won three flags in the South West District Football League (1954, 1955, 1962) but were then runners up in the South West District, Riverina and Farrar leagues 10 times between 1956 and 2001.

The Northern Jets first game for 2011, on 16 April, was against Colleambally, which has joined the Farrar league this year from the Hume league. The Jets won 12.17 (89) to 8.13 (61)

Photo courtesy of Matt Hansen and

Matt Hansen is a keen photographer of rural pubs, post offices, footy grounds and other landmarks.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s