Henry Jeffery Oval, East Fremantle, Western Australia


This is the home of the East Fremantle Junior Football Club (East Freo Power). Henry Jeffery Oval is an errant kick or so from the Swan River and spectators and players could, if the game at hand lost appeal, enjoy spectacular views.


The club was formed in 1955 though the “Power” nickname is a more recent addition. The club boasts an impressive roll call of past players including Graham Melrose, Tony Buhagiar, Doug Green and Sam Menegola. Former Docker Shaun McManus coached a Power premiership team in 2017.


On our visit during the 2019 season the scoreboard was being looked after by a very well organised duo. Earlier that year a temporary scoreboard was in place at the oval during a national lacrosse tournament.

Henry Jeffery was a Town of East East Fremantle councillor from 1952 to 1977 – his name also lives on at the East Fremantle Football Club where the reserves fairest and best award is the Henry Jeffery Medal.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s