AH Capp Reserve, Preston, Victoria


According to Rick Kane, who took these photos, the Darebin Falcons are the greatest women’s footy team in the universe (Victoria).

There were 14 AFLW players registered to the Falcons including four marquee players – Daisy Pearce and Mel Hickey (Melbourne), Katie Brennan (Western Bulldogs) and Darcy Vescio (Carlton).

Darebin were VWFL premiers in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 while Pearce has won the competition’s best and fairest award six times. Kane might be onto something.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s