Bellerive Oval, Tasmania, 23 March 2007

Photos courtesy of Marcus Nichols.

Thirteen years ago Tasmania won its first Sheffield Shield (though the time-honoured state competition was then known as The Pura Cup).

Tasmania defeated New South Wales by a somewhat comprehensive 421 runs.

Across two innings the top of the table home team accumulated 800 runs, with player of the match all-rounder Luke Butterworth making a century in the second innings (and 66 in the first).

An opening batsman by the name of T.Paine contributed 5 runs: none in his first dig, after being bowled by Doug Bollinger. Mr Paine was not even the state’s wicketkeeper at the time. That honour belonged to second innings century maker Sean Clingeleffer.

Full scorecard via CricInfo


Tim Paine very (very) shortly before being bowled by Doug Bollinger for a first innings three-ball duck.


The final ball. Doug Bollinger LBW Damien Wright for 12.


Marcus Nichols is the author of the recently published book,  ‘When local footy mattered, Remembering the 1979 TFL Centenary Season’.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s